Bobcats name football captains

The Ohio football team has named five team captains for the 2019 season — redshirt senior safety Javon Hagan (Jacksonville, Fla.), redshirt senior offensive lineman Austen Pleasants (Ironton, Ohio), senior quarterback Nathan Rourke (Oakville, Ontario, Canada), redshirt junior wide receiver Cameron Odom (Bedford, Ohio) and redshirt senior defensive lineman Will Evans (Augusta, Ga.).

Hagan enters his third season serving as a team captain while Rourke is in his second. Evans, Odom and Pleasants are all serving as captains for the first time.

“All five of those guys are really, really good football players, and all five of them are really, really great teammates,” said 15th-year head coach Frank Solich. “They’re driving hard for a great year – not only for themselves, but for their teammates. We’ll get tremendous leadership from that group.”

Over the last 14 years under the leadership of Solich, Ohio has recorded 106 wins, captured four Mid-American Conference East Division titles, appeared in 10 bowl games and tallied four bowl victories. The Bobcats recorded their second-straight nine-win season in 2018, capping the year off with a 27-0 shutout of San Diego State in the 2018 DXL Frisco Bowl to record their second-straight bowl win. Ohio is set to return three All-MAC selections from the 2018 squad, including Rourke, Hagan and redshirt senior punter Michael Farkas (Mishawaka, Ind.). The Bobcats were selected to win both the MAC East Division and the 2019 Marathon MAC Football Championship Game in the conference’s media preseason poll

Ohio will kick off the 2019 regular season on Saturday, Aug. 31, with a home matchup against Rhode Island at Peden Stadium. The contest is slated to get underway at 2 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on ESPN+. 

Show More

Related Articles

Check Also

Back to top button